Oh Wheel, Stay True To Me!

My front wheel sure takes a beating. Over double rail tracks twice a day. I started to nice a slight hump lately. Time to true it up.

I have access to a Park professional trueing stand at work, so I stayed late and went at it.

There is no way I could make that wheel truly round again. The hump developed at the seam in the rim.

The explanation: the rim is stiffest at the seam, and over time, as the wheel ages, the spokes are just not able to pull in the rim at at place. The tension has drawn in the rim everywhere except the seam area. I minimized the hump, and trued it up laterally.

The wheel is not perfect, but it is much better. It will never be perfect again… It’s fully round days were its first days.

~ by outdoor-enthusiast on October 4, 2012.

Leave a comment