Winter Cycling, an update…

I’ve continued cycling even though winter has arrived. So far, my kit is working well. Some things to note:

  • I wrapped my handlebar grips with closed cell foam: big difference. A little more care needed manipulating brake levers and gear changers, but it is workable.
  • Keep the chain lubricated. Worth repeating. Keep the chain lubricated.
  • A Showers Pass jacket, on a merino wool base layer works well down to about 5C. Below that, add a mid layer. I’ve alternated using a regular short sleeved cycling jersey, to a Nike Hyperwarm long sleeve top. The Nike stuff is warm, warm, warm, and I frequently find even down to as low as -5C that I am even a bit too warm.
  • The Nokian Mount and Ground studded tires are essential.
  • Ride as though you don’t have brakes.
  • Keep the upper body as quiet on the bike as you can.
  • Snow hitting your eyeball at +30kmh or more can really sting. Wear cycling glasses or snow goggles. Sharp cut blue for daylight riding, clear or yellow lenses for night.
  • It’s often easier to ride through untracked snow than to ride on the stuff that cars pack down. The packed down stuff can slab off and become very unstable.
  • Concentrate on keeping the shoulders relaxed.
~ by outdoor-enthusiast on January 1, 2013.

2 Responses to “Winter Cycling, an update…”

  1. I think that this is a great way to do carbon credits, very direct grass roots approach and one that can be supported by the average person that wants to help the planet. I have make a donation of $10 and I feel great for doing it. Keep up the good work.

    Grant C

    • Awesome! Thanks Grant. The donation makes a huge difference to me, as I living with a very low income but trying to do all I can to halt global warming. I needed a spare tube and some chain lube. I can get both now. Thanks much!

Leave a Reply

 
