Cheap DIY Lemon Lime Sport Drink Recipe

Gatorade is a great product, but too expensive for me to consume in the quantities I need it. My job is quite physical, and after a ride in the morning, plus a day’s work, I need some gas in the tank to get me home. Here’s a recipe I use to make a drink at home:

5 Tblsp Organic Cane Sugar

2 Tblsp Lemon juice concentrate

2 Tbslp Lime juice concentrate

1/8 tsp kosher salt or Himilaya salt

1/8 tsp no-salt (potassium chloride)

1/4 tsp baking soda (buffers the acid, reduces the burps)

water to make, 1 litre

 

I start with a bit of warm water, and toss in all the ingredients, then top it up. Keep refrigerated to store.

~ by outdoor-enthusiast on September 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
