Commuting Food – Split Green Pea Soup in a vacuum food jar.

I am using commuting as a test bed for touring food. From my experience backpacking, anything that has to be sauted, simmered, or baked, is a time and fuel consuming meal. Easiest is soak, and boil. Using ingredients that I have dehydrated myself makes for some very tasty, nutritious and inexpensive food. You can dehydrate your own onions, carrots, and celery, for instance, and use these as the basis of a soup. WHen I was backpacking on the AT, I used exclusively my own dehydrated foods, and would start the rehydration process in the morning by tossing the dried ingredients into a 500ml Nalgene with some water, and letting the mixture soak all day while I hiked.

Contemporary all-stainless thermal containers are more or less unbreakable and can stand up to the rigours of cycle touring and commuting.

My morning ride in to work is fairly vigorous, and my work is quite physical. I have good sense of the carbohydrate content of food and I know that this recipe, which makes about 750ml of soup, is rocket fuel. It’s dead easy to make in that it uses simple ingredients and simple procedures.

Commuter Split Pea Soup – Protein and Carbs “On the Go”

2/3 cup of dried split peas (my pref is green)
a handful of extra firm tofu, cubes – or ham for non-vegetarians
1 Tbsp dehydrated onion flakes
2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
chunk of garlic
a bay leaf
2 tsp veggie or beef stock powder
fresh ground pepper to taste
1/2 tsp marjoram
pinch of salt

Preheat food jar with boiling water.

Soak the peas overnight in the fridge – next day, drain peas into small pot.

Add other ingredients other than the tofu cubes, and bring to a boil. Boil for 5 minutes. Reduce heat to simmer, add tofu cubes and heat them up for a couple of minutes.

Transfer into preheated food jar, top up with boiling water, and seal.

Roll up food container in some kind of cozy to minimize heat loss – I use a cozy I made from Reflectix.

Keep container horizontal.

Allow to cook inside food jar for 5 or more hours.

Note about food jars: these seem to lose a lot of heat through the lid and cup top. I filled the space between the lid and bottom of cup with 3 circular pieces of Reflectix. This seems to have reduced the heat loss.

should be ready to eat in about 5 hours.

~ by outdoor-enthusiast on August 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
